Archives for posts with tag: Dr. Louise Losos

Louise Losos has enjoyed a diverse career in education and leadership for more than 20 years. In addition to her tenure as the principal of Clayton High School, Louise Losos worked as the assistant principal at Parkway West High School from 2000 until 2005. She was responsible for developing discipline policy, administration, and supporting diversity and cultural awareness.

In 2001, the U.S. Congress created the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act, which revised and reauthorized the 1965 Elementary and Secondary Education Act. NCLB strives to give students in every American public school access to safe learning environments while supporting vital learning goals and academic achievement. Through these efforts, NCLB aims to close the achievement gap in American schools between children from advantaged backgrounds and those from underserved populations or who have disabilities.

NCLB requires public elementary and high schools to measure their performance progress through a standardized test given to all students within each state. The results are used to assess the adequate yearly progress (AYP) of the school in question, with reform, restructure, and corrective measures made available to schools that perform poorly.


From the Desk of Dr. Louise Losos

Each year, as many as 1.5 million high school students across the United States are considered candidates for the National Merit Scholarship Program. Of those, approximately 8,000 are selected. Dr. Louise Losos is well acquainted with the program’s rigorous selection process–she was the principal at Clayton High School, which produced the most National Merit semi-finalists in the state of Missouri. Here, she outlines the steps:

Students must meet minimum requirements to enter, which includes taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as a high school junior. Of the 3.5 million students who take the test, 1.5 million advance to the next stage.

Of those 1.5 million students, approximately 16,000 are chosen as semi-finalists and are notified via their high schools.

Finalists are picked from students who have demonstrated outstanding performance throughout high school, who have achieved high scores on the SAT, who intend to attend a four-year college, and who meet other criteria.

Dr. Louise Losos formerly led Clayton High School, rated one of Missouri’s top 100 high schools by Newsweek.